Class Evaluation

I really enjoy when we get to share out our opinions on things regarding the digital age and spreading of information. I also love being able to collaborate with other students so when can build off of one another to create deeper understandings of the concepts we learn. Mr. Haymore uploads all of our assignment tasks on Schoology. This makes it easy for me to know what I have to do and when it is due.

Some things that I did not like about class was that all of our assignments were worth 100 points. This made it so that it was very difficult to raise your grade but very easy for it to drop dramatically. I was constantly worried that my grade would drop to below an A when I was giving an A effort. I also did not like that we focused more on the explore and create performance tasks because they were worth less than the multiple choice portion. It was also difficult to receive guidance when it came to programming languages. We had to figure it out on our own, which for some people took more time than others. This caused there to be a lot of pressure on the students to complete their tasks, even if they practiced and studied 30 minutes a day.

Some recommendations for next year would be to spend more time on Code.org. I really enjoy hands on learning in this subject. Although that is typically not the case, this website has given me the freedom to explore concepts like I have never had the opportunity to do before. Another recommendation is to have practice AP Computer Science Principle exams in order to understand the process and experience. If I had an evaluation of my strengths and weaknesses on the test, I would have done much better because I could have focused on improving in those areas.

The highlight of this class was being able to see my friends creations and playing with them. Enrique created this game where I had to click on a cartoon figure but it was really difficult. Although it took me a while to beat the game, it was a lot of fun. I was very impressed with his work.

I think I did my best in class but there will always be much more room for improvement. I always tried to study before tests and complete my assignments on time. I learned that just because I am not good at something, it does not mean I should not give 100% It was difficult because I did not master the super complex concepts but I know the basics and that’s more than I could say previously.

I am reading my life planning goals every day. I am working to get 300 written down. I want to get a leather binded journal. Because my goals are important to me, I would like to carry them in style. It is also difficult to read my life planning goals for five minutes exactly because I am a fast reader, so what I do is try to visualize myself working toward them and accomplishing them.

I am striving to be an Arete and CTR person. The process is not easy but it is very much worth it. I make sure to study and do homework as well as help people and spread this philosophy. I am ready to continue it because I want to reach other people and make sure they work toward their potential. The more Arete people exist, the better the world can become. I want to be among the group of people that changes the world for the better. I can do that if I Choose the Right and am a Arete person.

Leave a comment